Tags

, ,

It’s amazing what time can do.

Of course it’s an arbitrary thing, so it really can’t “do” anything, but it does allow healing to take place.

It has been said, ‘time heals all wounds.’ I do not agree. The wounds remain. In time, the mind, protecting its sanity, covers them with scar tissue and the pain lessens. But it is never gone.
Rose Kennedy
US wife of Joseph Patrick Kennedy Sr. (1890 – 1995)

My jury is still out on if I agree or disagree with Rose, but regardless on my verdict, 2 months of “time” has seen a huge shift and healing in my world.

Friday Sept 9th saw me pen this with tears streaming down my face….

Who am I?

I look in the mirror and someone stares back at me,

A familiar person, but without an identity.

*******************

I sort of know them, but really not sure,

An empty gaze, that sees through to my core.

*******************

The sparkle in my eyes, the bounce in my step

Feels like a distant memory, that I don’t want to forget.

*******************

I used to be someone, I hope that one day,

That the someone in the mirror, comes back to stay.

*******************

It baffles me to this day on how I lost my sense of self, when I’m normally so confident, driven and happy.  It was like I would wake up every day in a mind that wasn’t my own….

What I have learned since I wrote that?

Be kind on yourself.

We are all human (not superhuman).

We are emotional beings that are here to experience a full life; with all of its glorious warm summers and of course, dark, dreary grey winters.

Learn to dance with these emotions and allow them time.

Don’t hang onto them, just dance.

Jods xx

